Procrastination (A Misunderstood Gift) – 3 Minute Read Time

The mind is our greatest enemy.  An individual’s personality and intellect is the sum of his or her life experience and education.  A method of learning that works for one person might not work for another

However…

There are certain methods of efficiency that work for just about everyone…Let’s introduce our old friend…

PROCRASTINATION…

For many, procrastination is a word that evokes a feeling of guilt due to laziness.  I would argue that we, as humans, are hardwired to procrastinate AND it is to our benefit.

>>>

Some of the best material we produce happens when a deadline is fast approaching.  That deadline forces you to act swiftly, precisely and efficiently in order to finish on time.  My best writing comes out when I hit that “flow.”  That flow is a mix of adrenaline-inspired concentration mixed with several large doses of caffeine.  At this moment…I am an OUTPUT MACHINE!

I recently read a few articles on procrastination and I am putting my own habit to the test.  For now I’m getting things done the day, or two, before the deadline and it seems to be working for me.  I’m enjoying this new experiment.

The key to all this is…

>>>MAKE YOU OWN DEADLINES<<<

Become your own boss.  It’s about time, right?  As musicians, the dream is complete freedom in every sense, artistic expression, financial freedom, the ability to tell anyone off without fear, if it so pleases you.

Start making your own deadlines and start procrastinating hardcore.  I think you’ll be surprised at how much you actually accomplish.

Questions? I’ll be happy to provide examples to anyone who might be curious.

Rock On!

Leave a Reply

