George Harrison: Living in the Material World Review Part 1

I have to comment on Martin Scorsese’s documentary on George Harrison, entitled “Living in the Material World.”  I first heard of this doc while it was still in post-production by a filmmaker friend of mine who was loosely associated with the film studio.  Of course, being a big Beatle, George Harrison and Scorsese fan myself, I could not wait to see this film.

>>>half a year later…

I watch the film and I am completely moved by every aspect of this sincere and thought-provoking movie.  George Harrison was the soft spoken introspective of the four Beatles, and that definitely comes across in the film.  Being a two part documentary, Scorsese takes you on a life’s journey of one of the most influential groups and eras of music.

I am not writing to make a synopsis of the film because that would take way too long, and I got stuff to do today.  But what I will do is break down a scene from the movie

>>>

After the breakup of the Beatles, George Harrison continued his spiritual quest through his music, his devotion to God and collaborations with different groups of artists, one of them being Ravi Shankar.  As you may know, Ravi was one of Harrison’s musical and spiritual gurus, teaching him the sitar and Indian classical tradition.  George spent quality time in India searching for meaning and for God consciousness and was deeply impressed by Ravi Shankar.  While filming one of his own concerts, Harrison poses the following question to Shankar:

“What do you think we should be doing to make our lives better?”

Ravi’s answer:  “What we talk about peace and love, but it’s all – Words. Mouth.  But actually it’s very hard to do it.  I find it’s so much easier through musical notes, musically to reach the heart.  And I feel the communication.  And I wish it was possible to relate the same thing without music.  But I find it very hard. I’m seeing people trying their best by giving lectures and so many talks and things but it’s not really achieving much.  So you and I have more advantage.”

Ravi’s music was his direct connection to love, God and to the heart and soul.  George picked up on that frequency and also had a deep spiritual connection in his own writing.

>>>

I really love the song. “Long, long, long” written by Harrison for the Beatles’ White Album.  What makes this song, and so many of the Beatles’ songs so powerful is their sincerity.  True songwriting direct from the heart.  The lyrics  are so full of meaning and the happiness of a man who has finally found God.

I suggest if you have not seen “Living in the Material World” yet, to rent it and take the journey.  It’s really amazing.  I will be posting more analyses in posts to come.

For now, here is an interview clip with George Harrison.  Truth.

Enjoy your day. And please comment.

Leave a Reply

